PEER for Researchers

PEER members are dedicated exclusively to environmental research focusing on the interaction between man and the environment and sustainable development. PEER addresses complex environmental challenges on different spatial and temporal scales, integrating natural sciences, social sciences and engineering, and linking basic and applied research.

The benefits of PEER are

  • to share information and to learn from each other,
  • to put together scientific knwoledge for policy makers,
  • to collaborate in R&D projects,
  • to apply for joint funding and to share job opportunieties and
  • to build mobility options for PEER members.

Networking within PEER

How to get in contact with PEER?

The so-called sherpas (see table below) are the first point of contact for researchers. They know the relevant research and partners in PEER and can help to initiate PEER projects.

Center Contact
WENR Henk Wolfert, +31 317 481653, henk.wolfert@wur.nl
INRAE Raoul Mille, +33 (0)1 40 96 61 80, raoul.mille@inrae.fr
CEH Joanne Chamberlain, +44 149 1692655, joaamb@ceh.ac.uk
JRC Marusca Gnecchi, Marusca.GNECCHI@ec.europa.eu
DCE Anja Skjoldborg Hansen, +45 8715 1302, ash@dce.au.dk
SYKE Kristian Meissner, +358 295 251 422, Kristian.Meissner@ymparisto.fi
UFZ Ursula Schmitz, +49 341 2351224, ursula.schmitz@ufz.de 
CIENS Sindre Langaas, Sindre.Langaas@niva.no

Existing networks

ALTER-Net

ALTER-Net is a source of opportunities for PEER scientists: find partners for a joint proposal (ALTER-Net Call Exchange); receive financial support for high-impact projects (ALTER-Net High Impact Action - AHIA initiative); develop one’s personal networks and knowledge on interdisciplinary issues (annual Summer School), participate to conferences

EurAqua

The closed PEER-EurAqua relation and the synergies of their activities facilitate collaboration between research teams: sharing information, involvement on collaborative research projects, mobilisation of expertise to support policy making…

LANDSCAPE Europe

[to be completed]

Overview research topics

The PEER research is conducted in 15 of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) of the UN: